The Dink Pickleball

The Dink Pickleball Logo
Pickleball Lives Here
Major League Pickleball

Major League Pickleball Season 2 Details

by Thomas Shields on

Major League Pickleball is back in 2022 with the highest prize money in professional pickleball - $100,000 for each event to the winning team

* 48 of the world’s best professional players line-up at Dreamland for MLP 2022 Austin from June 3rd-5th, kicking-off the three-event competition for this season’s Pritchard Cup, televised by CBS Sports

* New MLP Team Owners unveiled joining Gary Vaynerchuk, Brené Brown, Marc Lasry, and James Blake

* Additional MLP events announced in 2022 for Newport Beach, California, and Columbus, Ohio

Austin, TX (May 31, 2022) – Major League Pickleball (MLP), the elite pickleball league showcasing the world’s best professional pickleball players in a unique mixed-gender team format, today announced its full line-up of teams, owners, events, and sponsors, as it prepares to kickstart its second season at MLP 2022 Austin from June 3rd-5th.

In addition to Austin, additional MLP 2022 signature events will take place in Newport Beach, CA, from August 5th-7th, and Columbus, OH, from October 14th-16th. The winning team at each event will receive the highest prize money in professional pickleball: $100,000 ($25,000 per winning player). CBS Sports will exclusively televise the Austin final on June 5th, helping MLP serve as a platform to attract new pickleball fans and players to America's fastest growing sport.

Each MLP 2022 signature event will take place over three days with all 12 MLP teams competing to win The Pritchard Cup, first awarded to Team BLQK at MLP’s inaugural event at Dreamland in November 2021.

Last Saturday's draft at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center at Flushing Meadows, NY populated the 12 teams with 48 of the world’s best professional players on four-person teams. This unique draft format enabled Team Owners to pick gender equitable teams of two men and two women players. There are three pools of four teams. After pool play, the top six teams will move on to a single elimination bracket. The quarterfinals and the semifinals will be livestreamed on MLP digital channels, including Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

The 12 teams will compete this year under an exciting roster of new owners including David Kass & Doug Ulman (The Bus), Molly Joseph & Travis Rettenmaier (Florida Smash), and Zubin Mehta (Mad Drops Pickleball Club) who join Gary Vaynerchuk’s team (The 5s). David Kass will also host MLP 2022 Columbus in a new indoor pickleball venue later this year.

“I could not be more excited to announce Newport Beach and Columbus as our next two signature events in addition to MLP 2022 Austin. And it’s my honor to welcome our new team owners to our iconic Major League Pickleball team owner group,” said Steve Kuhn, Creator and Founder of Major League Pickleball.

"Adding to Austin, Newport Beach and Columbus, we now also have Pickleball Night in America, our regular Tuesday night pro pickleball series, which is moving around the country, taking pro pickleball into great locations across the USA and giving pickleball fans over 60 events a year of pickleball action to tune into. That’s hundreds of hours of opportunities to showcase the sport we all love as well as the amazing pro players”, said Steve Kuhn, Creator and Founder of Major League Pickleball.

New Sponsors for MLP 2022 include: Franklin balls, Skechers footwear, Ora Organic nutrition products, Knockaround sunglasses, and ProXR paddles.


ATX Pickeballers

  • Jade Kawamoto
  • Sara Ansboury
  • Dylan Frazier
  • Altaf Merchant

BLQK (Defending Champions)

  • Irina Tereschenko
  • Parris Todd
  • Zane Navratil
  • Rafa Hewett


  • Andrea Koop
  • Megan Fudge
  • Rob Cassidy
  • Daniel DeLaRosa


  • Michelle Esquivel
  • Regina Franco
  • Dekel Bar
  • Joey Farias

Florida Smash

  • Maggie Remynse
  • Lee Whitwell
  • JW Johnson
  • Travis Rettenmaier

Hard Eights

  • Jorja Johnson
  • Susannah Barr
  • Andrei Daescu
  • John Cincola


  • Jackie Kawamoto
  • Mary Brascia
  • AJ Koller
  • Wes Gabrielsen


  • Bobbi Oshiro
  • Corrine Carr
  • Thomas Wilson
  • Chuck Taylor

Mad Drops Pickleball Club

  • Vivienne David
  • Olivia McMillan
  • Adam Stone
  • Julian Arnold


  • Anna Bright
  • Maggie Brascia
  • DJ Young
  • Austin Gridley

The 5s

  • Simone Jardim
  • Lina Padegimaite
  • Rob Nunnery
  • Erik Lange

The Bus

  • Lauren Stratman
  • Milan Rane
  • Kyle Yates
  • Eden Lica

About Major League Pickleball
Major League Pickleball (MLP) is the elite professional pickleball competition that sees teams of two women, two men, compete in a unique format that has set new standards in the fastest growing sport in America. MLP’s first-ever event, which took place in November, 2022, raised the bar for pro pickleball, introducing broadcast and event production innovations that saw MLP awarded the title “Event of the Year” by The Dink. In addition to MLP’s goal to create engaging new platforms to showcase the best professional female and male pickleball players worldwide, MLP is also focused on helping build the grassroots of the sport, attracting both new participants and fans to pickleball in the USA and worldwide. For more information on Major League Pickleball, go to and follow Major League Pickleball on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok, Pinterest and YouTube.

Read more