The Push-Off Foot Fault Rule Everyone Gets Wrong: Referee Ron Ponder Explains
In pickleball, the kitchen doesn’t care how good your shot was — only where your feet were when you hit it.
We hung out with legendary pickleball referee Ron Ponder at The Dink Minor League National Championships in Dallas recently.
Ponder took some time to explain some of pickleball's most commonly misunderstood rules, including the push-off foot fault.
Most people get it wrong, but you aren't most people, at least not after watching this video.
Heads up: hundreds of thousands of pickleballers read our free newsletter. Subscribe here for cutting edge strategy, insider news, pro analysis, the latest product innovations and more.
Let's break it down even further.
The Non‑Volley Zone (NVZ), better known as the kitchen, produces more confusion than almost any other rule in pickleball. Most players understand the headline rule: you can’t volley the ball while standing in the kitchen or touching the NVZ line.
Where things go sideways is the push‑off foot fault, and the concept of re‑establishment, which is the single most important (and misunderstood) part of this rule.
What Is “Re‑Establishment”?
In pickleball, re‑establishment means that both of your feet (or whatever contacts the court) must be completely outside the NVZ and not touching the NVZ line before you hit a volley.
Not one foot.
Not “mostly” outside.
Both feet, fully clear.
Until that happens, you are not legally allowed to volley the ball.

Where Players Get It Wrong
Many players believe the rule is about where you land after a volley. It’s not.
The rule is about where your feet are at the moment you strike the ball, and whether you have re‑established outside the kitchen before doing so.
Here’s the most common violation:
- A player steps into the NVZ to hit a dink.
- They back up slightly.
- One foot remains touching the NVZ line.
- They then volley the next ball.
That’s a fault, even if they never step back into the kitchen afterward.
The Push‑Off Foot Fault Explained
If any part of your foot is touching the NVZ or NVZ line when you volley, including a back foot pushing off the line - it’s a fault.
You don’t have to land in the kitchen.
You don’t have to fall forward.
The push‑off itself is illegal if you haven’t re‑established.
Momentum Still Matters
Even if you do re‑establish, momentum can still get you:
- If your forward momentum from a volley causes you to touch the NVZ after contact, even once the point is technically over - it’s still a fault.
The Simple Rule to Remember
No re‑establishment = no volley.
If there’s any doubt, assume you haven’t cleared the kitchen yet. Establish clean footing with both feet, then attack.
Because in pickleball, the kitchen doesn’t care how good your shot was — only where your feet were when you hit it.
To stay in the know on all things pickleball, like 100s of thousands of other insiders, subscribe to The Dink's free newsletter:
Love Pickleball? Join 100k+ readers for free weekly tips, news & gear deals.
Subscribe to The DinkGet 15% off pickleball gear at Midwest Raquet Sports


